Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


Motor Racing Legends 2010 Awards Dinner

image-14-10-2016-at-09-31-4 image-14-10-2016-at-09-31-5 image-14-10-2016-at-09-31-6 image-14-10-2016-at-09-31-7

Wednesday 26th January 2011 saw over 200 guests flock to the Royal Automobile Club for the annual Motor Racing Legends Awards Dinner. Among them were Sir Stirling and Lady Moss, legendary Jaguar test driver and racer Norman Dewis, Donington Park’s owner Kevin Wheatcroft, and many more luminaries from the motor racing world, not to mention Stephan Ziegler’s fabulous Jaguar E2A on display in the rotunda. Plus, of course, a roomful of historic racers, keen to hear who had won the many glittering trophies on display in the fabulous setting of the Mountbatten Room…

…and none more glittering than the silverware presented to the winner of the new-for-2010 Stirling Moss Trophy. The trophy itself was an incredible piece of motorsport history: none other than the actual trophy awarded to Stirling Moss for winning the 1955 British Grand Prix at Aintree – in the W196 Mercedes – Sir Stirling’s first ever Grand Prix win.

Having thanked the Dinner’s sponsors – Pearson Engineering and CKL Developments – along with JD Classics, which generously supports the Stirling Moss Trophy, Duncan Wiltshire welcomed EFG Private Bank as the new sponsor for the Woodcote Trophy in 2011. Then it was time for the Awards presentation. Here are the winners:


Pre-War Sports Car Series

Winners: Alex Ames and Gareth Burnett (Talbot 105)

Class winners: Sue Darbyshire and Gary Caroline; John Polson; David Hince, Alex Pilkington and Richard Pilkington


Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy

Winners: Martin Melling and Rick/Rob Hall (Aston Martin DB3)

Class winners: Chris Guest; Phil Champion, Chris Chilcott and Sam Stretton; Mike Thorne and Johnny Todd; Will Arif and Alex Buncombe; Gavin Pickering and Spencer Marsh


Stirling Moss Trophy

Winners: Alan and Jason Minshaw (Maserati Birdcage)

Class winners: Chris and Ollie Phillips; Stephen Bond; Miles Griffiths; Ron and Malcolm Gammons; Ewan McIntyre


Father & Son Trophy – sponsored by Blakeney Motorsport

Winners: Chris and Ollie Phillips


Salvers from Alain Defalle of the Spa Six Hours meeting

Winners: Mike Thorne and Johnny Todd; Alec Cooper


Motor Racing Legends Trophy

Winner: Barry Wood