Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


Motor Racing Legends 2009 Awards Dinner

image-14-10-2016-at-09-34-1 image-14-10-2016-at-09-34-2 image-14-10-2016-at-09-34-3

The Motor Racing Legends Awards Dinner saw the magnificent Mountbatten Room at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall packed to capacity on 27 January 2010, with all tickets sold out some weeks beforehand. The evening mixed good food and wine, informal banter among friends, and the serious business of announcing the winners of the prestigious trophies for the three Motor Racing Legends race series; as well as the winners of the many class awards. After a short introduction by Motor Racing Legends’ Duncan Wiltshire, the winners were announced, as follows…

2009 Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy Winners: Richard & Andrew Frankel.Trophy presented by Ben Cussons of the Royal Automobile Club. Class Winners: Drum-braked up to 1500cc: Stephen & Ben Gibson (Connaught)… Drum-braked up to 3000cc:Richard & Andrew Frankel (Ferrari 750 Monza)… Drum-braked up to 2000cc: Stephen Bond (Lister Bristol)… Disc-braked up to 3000cc: Adrian Hall & Nick Adams (Lotus X)… Drum-braked over 3000cc: Tom Walker & Jonathan Cobb (Allard J2X Le Mans)… Disc-braked over 3000cc: Ben Eastick & Tony Dron (Jaguar D-type) 

2009 BRDC Historic Sportscars Trophy Winners: John & Chris Clark. Trophy presented by Stuart Pringle of the BRDC. Class Winners: Drum-braked cars pre-1956: John & Chris Clark (Cooper Bobtail)… Up to 1100cc: Jim Woodley & Iain Rowley (Lotus 17)… Up to 1500cc: James Paterson & Rick Bourne(Lotus XI)… Up to 2000cc: Ewan McIntyre (Lotus XV)… Over 2000cc: Jamie McIntyre (Lister Chevrolet)

2009 Pre-War Sports Car Trophy Winner: Clive Morley. Trophy presented by Lady Moss. Class Winners: Up to 1100cc: Richard & Geoffrey Bradford (Riley Brooklands)… Up to 1500cc: Charles Gillett & Justin Maeers (Frazer Nash Supersports)… Up to 2000cc: Jim Campbell (Aston Martin Mk II)… Up to 3000cc: John Polson (Talbot 105)… Over 3000cc: Clive Morley (Bentley)

Thanks go to the three sponsors of the Awards Dinner: Blakeney MotorsportCKL Developments and Pearsons Engineering, for helping the assembled diners to eat, drink, and make merry.