Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


Jan 2013 - Motor Racing Legends Annual Awards – The Winners


At its annual Awards Dinner on Wednesday 23rd January, at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall, Motor Racing Legends celebrated a great year of motor racing in 2012 – and announced the winners of the four race series run by the historic racing organisation.

The Dinner itself was a sell-out: indeed, there was a waiting list of disappointed guests who couldn’t be squeezed into the impressively large Mountbatten Room. However, as well as more than two hundred racers and supporters sitting down to dinner, Motor Racing Legends did manage to accommodate such luminaries as Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club Tom Purves, and long-time supporters Sir Stirling and Susie Moss.


As well as announcing the Award winners, Wiltshire’s speech touched on Motor Racing Legends’ new partnership with Motul Lubricants, joining existing sponsors EFG Private Bank and JD Classics; the forthcoming Le Mans Legend support race at the Le Mans 24 Hours (this year for cars from 1949-65); and there was also a reminder that the Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy was voted ‘Race Series of the Year’ at the International Historic Motoring Awards last November.

The Award winners were as follows:

Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy – for pre-1956 sports cars, sponsored by EFG Private Bank, and winner of the IHMA Race Series of the Year 2012

Overall winners: Carlos Monteverde and Gary Pearson – Jaguar D-type

Class winners: John Ure/Nick Wigley (Cooper Bristol T24/25); Mark Midgley/Chris Woodgate (Aston Martin DB3); Mike Thorne/Johnny Todd (Austin-Healey 100M); Nick Finburgh/John Clark (Jaguar C-type)

Stirling Moss Trophy – for pre-1961 sports cars and sports-racers, sponsored by JD Classics

image-18-10-2016-at-10-07 image-18-10-2016-at-10-07-1 image-18-10-2016-at-10-07-2 image-18-10-2016-at-10-08 image-18-10-2016-at-10-08-1

Overall winners: Gabriel and Dion Kremer – Lotus 17 Prototype

Class winners: Ralf Emmerling/Phil Hooper (Elva MkV); Adam, Joe and Rachel Singer (Kurtis 500S); Gregory De Prins (Rejo MkIV); Graeme and James Dodd (Cooper Monaco); Alan and Jason Minshaw (Maserati Birdcage)

JD Classics Challenge – for 1966-85 Touring Cars

Overall winners: Sean, Robert and Dan Brown (Ford Escort MK1 RS)

Class winners: Gary Pearson/Alex Buncombe/Chris Ward (Jaguar TWR XJS); Anthony Robinson (Triumph Dolomite); Denis Welch/Mike Freeman/Mike Hibberd/Jeremy Welch (Ford Capri); Paul Pochciol (Ford Capri No.42)

Pre-War Sports Car Series – for genuine pre-War sports cars running in road trim

Overall winners: David Cottingham/James Cottingham/Simon Diffey – BMW 328 Sports

Class winners: Sue Darbyshire and Gary Caroline (Morgan Super Aero 3-wheeler); Clive Morley/Stuart Morley/Duncan Wiltshire (Bentley 3/4½); Robert Lewis (V12 Lagonda)

Motor Racing Legends Trophy – recognising any great achievement or commitment or special action that isn’t covered by any of the other awards

Winner: Richard Walbyoff (for his unstinting help in the paddock to other competitors) 

Traditional Oak Family Trophy – awarded in recognition of ‘family’ teams, sponsored by the Traditional Oak & Timber Company

Winner: Singer family