Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


2017 Winners Announced

Last night Motor Racing Legends crowned the series winners of 2017 in style at their annual awards dinner at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall.  MSA Chairman David Richards was guest of honour pictured above with the winners.  

MRL Chairman, Duncan Wiltshire hosted the evening where during the evening’s presentation, he confirmed the highlights of the year being; an invitation from Spa Six Hour event for the Pre-War Sports Cars; a return to the 2018 Silverstone Classic for Historic Touring Car competitors; and an invitation to race for both 50s and HTCC at the Thruxton 50th anniversary meeting on June 2/3.   

Highlights of the winners included Chris Ward, John Young and Andrew Smith (Lister Costin) who lifted the hallowed Stirling Moss Trophy, the very same trophy won by Moss for his first ever British Grand Prix win in 1955 at Aintree. John Ure, Nick Wigley and Barry Cannell raised the Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy for their season’s campaign in the cigar-shaped Cooper Bristol T24/25 and Steve Dance took home the overall Historic Touring Car Challenge plate for his season in a Ford Capri.

The Tony Dron Trophy (The Tricentral Cup) as won by Tony Dron himself at the British Saloon Car Championship race at the British Grand Prix in 1977 was taken by George Pochciol in his first season’s racing in the family’s Group 1 ‘Esso’ Ford Capri. And it was the formidable Bentley driver team of father and son Clive Morley and James Morley who took home the overall Pre-War Sports Cars Trophy.

Long-time supporter of Motor Racing Legends and devoted classic racing promoter and organiser – HSCC CEO Grahame White  – was presented with the Motor Racing Legends Trophy. Tim and Oliver Llewellyn were awarded the Traditional Oak Family Spirit Trophy for their season in the Bentley 41/2 and the Allard J2. Tony Wood and Will Nuthall took home The Brian Lister Cup presented by Lawrence Whittaker, the CEO of Lister for the best overall performance by a Lister in 2017.

Full List of Winners: 

Woodcote Trophy Class Winners:

C1 Paul Griffin
C2 John Ure/Nick Wigley/Barry Cannell
C3 Martin Melling/Rob Hall
C3a Malcolm Paul/Rick Bourne
C4 John Brown/Charlie Brown
C4a Fred Wakeman/Patrick Blakeney-Edwards


Stirling Moss Trophy Class Winners: 

C1 Keith Ahlers/Billy Bellinger
C2 Chris Keen/Richard McAlpine
C3 Gregory De Prins
C4 Phil Champion/Sam Stretton
C5 Charles Gillett/Steve Smith
C6 Chris Ward/John Young/Andrew Smith


Historic Touring Car Challenge, Class Winners: 

2A Tom Pead
2B Mike Luck/Calum Lockie
2C Steve Dance
3B Tony Hart/Will Nuthall
3C Chris Ward/Steve Soper
4B Mark Smith


Tony Dron Trophy Class Winners:

2A Mark Wilson
2B Paul Clayson
2C George Pochciol/Tom Pochciol/Paul Pochciol/James Hanson/Jason Minshaw


Pre-War Sports Car Class Winners:

1 Fred Wakeman/Patrick Blakeney-Edwards
2 Steve Smith
3 Richard Hudson/Stuart Morley Joint Winners with Clive Morley/James Morley
4 Richard Iliffe
6 Martin Halusa/Niklas Halusa
7 Trevor Swete